Congratulations to Fellow Eva Freeman, Winner of a 2023 Courage To Write Grant

Eva Freeman Passionate about investing in writers and the literary arts, The de Groot Foundation believes non-violence, diversity, inclusivity, and cooperation make a more beautiful world.  

Kimbilio Fellow Amina Gautier Wins New Millennium Fiction Contest

Amina Gautier’s story “Persophone” was selected as the  first place winner in the 54th New Millennium Award for Flash Fiction contest.  Gautier will receive $1,000 and publication both online and in print. Here’s a taste: How his hand came up to meet mine, breaking through the dense, rich soil, cupping the roots and bulb of […]

Kimbilio Fellow Kima Jones Wins Granum Foundation Prize

From the Granum Foundation Website: Congratulations to Kima Jones, winner of the 2022 Granum Foundation Prize. Kima Jones’s writing has appeared nationally in GQ, Guernica, Poets & Writers, and McSweeney’s. Her short story, “Nine,” received notable mention in Best American Science Fiction 2015, and her hybrid poem, “Homegoing AD,” appears in Best American Nonrequired Reading […]

Congratulations to Kimbilio Fellows and Inaugural Letras Boricuas Fellows Amina Gautier and Dahlma Llanos Figueroa

Kimbilio Fellows Amina Gautier and Dahlma Llanos Figueroa are among the inaugural cohort of Letras Boricuas Fellows – 20 Puerto Rican writers whose dynamic work spans genres including fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, and children’s literature. A first-of-its-kind fellowship, Letras Boricuas was created to identify, elevate, and amplify the voices of emerging and established Puerto Rican writers on […]

Kimbilio Congratulates Hurston/Wright Nominees

Congratulations to the Kimbilio Fellows who are nominees for the 2021 Hurston/Wright Awards! In Debut Fiction: Stephen Wright for his novel The Coyotes of Carthage Deesha Philyaw for her collection The Secret Lives of Church Ladies In Poetry: Rachel Eliza Griffiths for her collection of Seeing the Body: Poems Kimbilio Fellow Amina Gautier served as […]

Mary Slechta is the 2021 Winner of the Kimbilio National Fiction Prize, selected by Carolyn Ferrell

Kimbilio and Four Way Books are pleased to announce that Mary Slechta has been selected as the winner of the 2021 Kimbilio National Fiction Prize.  Ms. Slechta’s book, Mulberry Street: Stories, will be published in the spring of 2023 by Four Way Books.  The judge for this year’s prize was celebrated author Carolyn Ferrell (Dear […]

Congratulations to Kimbilio Fellow and 2021 Whiting Award Winner Tope Folarin

Kimbilio Fellow Tope Folarin has been selected as a winner of a 2021 Whiting Award Tope Folarin is a Nigerian-American writer based in Washington, DC. He won the Caine Prize for African Writing in 2013 and was shortlisted once again in 2016. He was also named to the 2019 Africa39 list of the most promising […]

The Kimbilio National Fiction Prize


Congratulations to Kimbilio Fellow Deesha Philyaw

Kimbilio Fellow Deesha Philyaw is the winner of the 2021 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction. More on the link below.

Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o nominated as author and translator in first for International Booker

Kenyan novelist’s The Perfect Nine is first work written in an indigenous African language to be longlisted for the Booker Prize. Read the Guardian article at this link.